I Wasn’t ‘Asking For It’

When I was in 7th grade, we had spirit weeks. Every day brought a different theme and students were encouraged to participate by dressing up. One particular day, either a Tuesday or Wednesday I can’t remember, was deemed “Hat Day”; a big deal as, on any other day, hats were prohibited. It was 1998, so sun visors were all the rage and, unfortunately, I contributed to the trend. I wore a baby blue visor with a Playboy bunny logo. I matched it with a baby blue long-sleeve shirt, one of those fluffy vests I regrettably can’t lie about wearing and blue jeans.

It took a grand total of two class periods before I was called to the office.

I sat in front of the principal, the visor now on his desk. He threatened suspension and regurgitated a few sentences regarding school code. Then he told me something I have yet to forget: “You keep wearing trash like this and you’ll end up a whore, just like the women who represent Playboy. Is that what you want? To be nothing but a slut?”.

Even at my young and reasonably impressionable age, I realized the utter ignorance of that sentence. It was meant to hurt me, surely, yet it was so ridiculous I was left more bewildered than deterred. The idea that my ability to make choices with my body would hinge on the clothes I wore seemed hilariously condescending. Not only was this man trying to take away my favorite visor — a crime as far as I was concerned — he was trying to tell me I lacked the ability to coherently decide, well, damn near anything for myself.

After collecting my thoughts in the way only way a middle school kid can, I told him he was a moron and that I’d wear whatever I want.

I was suspended for an entire week.

When my parents were called, I was reprimanded appropriately. That was, of course, until I told my mother and father what the principal had said. My father drove me and my visor back to school and ripped that poor champion of education a figurative new one in a way I’d never seen before.

I was back in school the next day.

Thirteen years later, I sat on the opposite end of a desk much like my middle school principal’s. Tears were streaming down my cheeks and I was shaking uncontrollably, despite the pools of sweat forming between my fidgeting fingers. A disarming face stared back at me; weathered from years of public service and with wrinkles that whispered they had experienced more than they cared to.

I had finished re-living a painful sexual assault. The detective had my case in front of him; the files laying on his desk, lifeless and accusatory, just like my visor all those years prior. He had finished writing a few notes, pausing periodically to ask me questions about where I was touched or what I had yelled.

He thanked me for the details I was willing to share and acknowledged how difficult that can be. He regurgitated a few sentences regarding possible procedures and next steps, should he believe I had a case worth pursuing. Then, he asked me something I have yet to forget: “Now, what were you wearing that night? It’s important that we establish that you weren’t wearing or doing anything that may be perceived as coercion.”

I looked for my old visor on his desk. Instead, all I found was doubt and pain and the ignorance I so desperately wish was exclusive to middle school principals. I knew the detective didn’t mean to hurt me with his question. He was doing his job. In fact, I knew that no matter how ridiculous I thought that question was, or the belief associated with it, on some level, even I would wonder if what I was wearing was the reason why he forced himself on top of me.

I should have picked a sweatshirt. I should have picked a different visor.

When I called and told my boyfriend what happened and the questions I was asked, to my surprise, I was asked them again. What exactly was I wearing and why, exactly, was I wearing it? I realized no one would be driving me back to an office this time. There would be no figurative ripping of a “new one” and I wouldn’t be able to return back to the normal I once knew the next day.

Because, at least in this society, women are what they wear.

Which is why, in that moment and many since, I realized that I’m still that little middle school girl, being called a whore and wondering why.

@media only screen and (min-width : 500px) {.ethanmobile { display: none; }}

Like Us On Facebook |
Follow Us On Twitter |
Contact HuffPost Women

ALSO ON HUFFPOST:

— This feed and its contents are the property of The Huffington Post, and use is subject to our terms. It may be used for personal consumption, but may not be distributed on a website.

